Home Randomness SNES Classic Announced With 21 Games Including Never-Before-Released Sequel

SNES Classic Announced With 21 Games Including Never-Before-Released Sequel


SNES Classic game list.

SNES Classic Coming in September

Nintendo announced the expected SNES Classic console today. The updated rerelease follows the successful sales of the NES Classic last year. Super Nintendo Classic arrives in stores on September 29 for $80. There will be 21 video games built in to the system, including the never-before-released Star Fox 2.

Games you’ll get if you buy the SNES Classic are:

  • Contra III: The Alien Wars
  • Donkey Kong Country
  • EarthBound

  • Final Fantasy III
  • F-ZERO
  • Kirby Super Star

  • Kirby’s Dream Course
  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
  • Mega Man X

  • Secret of Mana
  • Star Fox
  • Star Fox 2

  • Street Fighter II Turbo: Hyper Fighting
  • Super Castlevania IV
  • Super Ghouls ’n Ghosts

  • Super Mario Kart
  • Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars
  • Super Mario World

  • Super Metroid
  • Super Punch-Out!!

I forgot how often Nintendo just threw “Super” in front of every game. I’m surprised Star Fox 2 isn’t simply Super Star Fox. Speaking of Star Fox, you won’t jut get to play the sequel from the jump. You’ll have to earn it.

From the official press release:

“Even for super fans who have played all of these games multiple times, the inclusion of the never-before-released Star Fox 2 game will offer them something entirely new to enjoy – if they can unlock it by proving their skills in the original Star Fox game. (Well, they only have to complete the first level – we didn’t want to make it too hard!)”

The nostalgia of holding an old gaming controller gets a lot of people to buy into these cash grabs. And that’s great. But just a heads up, you can download mods of all these games for free online with minimal tech knowledge.

Source: Kotaku